New Hampshire is the only US state without a seat belt rule for adults as it stands. For all 50 US states, only New Hampshire has not enforced a law that ensures that people wear seatbelts when in a car.
We are not saying that people do not use seat belts in New Hampshire, but they are doing it out of their desire, not because it is a law in the state.
Many states ensure to have a seat belt rule as they are concerned about the safety of their citizens. After all, seat belts have prevented many accidents. So, it is only right that people when seat belt when in a car.
There have been many sensitization programs about the importance of seat belts, and people are always encouraged to use them. But, sadly, we see that some people only wear seat belts because it is a rule in their state.
However, we advise that everyone wears seat belts when in a car as it comes in handy for preventive measures.
In this article, we will also highlight the importance of seat belts. But for now, below is a table showing the various seat belt rules and the number of states that have enforced these rules in the US.
|Rules||No. of states|
|Primary laws for all car occupants||20|
|Primary front-seat belt law and secondary rear-seat belt law||6|
|Secondary laws for all occupants||6|
|Primary front-seat-only belt laws||8|
|Secondary front-seat-only belt laws||9|
|No seat belt rule||1|
States With Seat Belt Rules In The US
Alabama has a primary front-seat belt law and secondary rear-seat belt law. It means that every front seat passenger of a car must use a seat belt. Yes, this law doesn’t apply to the driver alone, as it also applies to whoever sits in front of the driver.
So, you may be wondering what happens when someone doesn’t follow the seat belt rules in Alabama. Allow us to tell you that you will pay fines if you flaunt the seat belt rule in Alabama.
We see that offenders have to pay $25 to enforcement agencies when they fault the seat belt rule.
For anyone staying in Delaware, there is a primary enforcement seat belt rule for all vehicle passengers.
It means that this rule to both adults and children. It is because the law doesn’t not exclude any age or gender. Instead, it covers everyone.
So, irrespective of where you sit in the car in Delaware, you must wear a seat belt. And, the driver has to ensure that everyone complies with the rules. Else, the driver has to pay a $25 fine, and there will be other court charges.
The driver will be dropping an estimate of around $85.
Yes, Montana has a seat belt rule, but it is not primary law. If you are confused about how it works, we will explain it.
In Montana, there is no primary law concerning the wearing of seat belts. However, if the driver is stopped for flaunting other traffic rules, he can also be charged for not wearing a seat belt.
So, we can say that the seat belt rule in Montana is dependent on other factors.
For example, the authorities will not stop a driver for not wearing a seat belt since it is not a primary rule in the state.
In Florida, the law applies primarily to those in the front seat. So, if you decide to ride in a car and sit in the front with the driver, you must be ready to wear a seat belt.
There is also a clause that comes with the seat belt rule in Florida. We see that it is compulsory for everyone in the front to use a seat belt. In addition, it is also compulsory that anyone under 18 years in a car should also wear a seat belt.
So, we can say that the primary front seat belt rule is for adults. And, all children must use a seat belt.
The seat belt rule in Colorado is almost similar to that of Florida, but there is also a difference.
We see that every front seat passenger of a car must wear a seat belt in Colorado. So, you can get wear with not wearing a seat belt if you are seated at the back. However, it comes with a clause that some people sometimes fail to realize.
In Colorado, you can only get away with sitting at the back and not wearing a seat belt if the driver is over 18 years. However, if the driver is below 18 years, every car passenger must use a seat belt.
Texas is one of the states in the USA that has compulsory seat belt laws for all passengers of a law.
So, if you are getting into a vehicle in Texas, you are doing so with the mindset that you must wear a seat belt.
It is hard to place a figure for the fine fee at the moment. However, once anyone defaults on this rule in Texas, they usually get a ticket. And, we know that you won’t want to get a ticket or get on the other side of the authorities.
So, make it a habit always to use a seat belt when you are riding in any car in Texas.
Some of the frequently asked questions are:
Is New Hampshire The Only State Without A Seat Belt Rule?
Yes, New Hampshire is currently the only state without a seat belt rule for adults.
What Is The Texas Seat Belt Rule?
The seat belt rule in Texas states that everyone has to use a seat belt or pay fines for defaulting.
What State Has The Lowest Seat Belt Usage?
New Hampshire has the lowest seat belt usage as adults have no seat belt rules.
New Hampshire is the only state in the US that currently does not have a seat belt rule for adults, and we are looking to see how it plays out with time.
However, the next time you get into a car, the first thing you should do is to wear a seat belt.